RF manipulation M. E. Ladd

Our research group develops methods and technologies to enable 7 Tesla examinations throughout the body including the torso. Part of the group is located at the Erwin L. Hahn Institute (ELH) in Essen and part at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg.

Our work is in particular focused on:

  1. multi-channel transmit coils,
  2. numerical simulations in inhomogeneous human body models to investigate B1 and SAR patterns, also in the presence of electrically-conducting implants, and
  3. excitation strategies to homogenize the transmit B1 field or perform spatially selective excitation/saturation.

As part of the DFG-funded German Ultrahigh Field Imaging (GUFI) project, we are working to establish quality assurance standards for ultra-high-field imaging. A 32-channel parallel transmission system is under development as part of a collaboration between ELH in Essen, DKFZ in Heidelberg, and High-Frequency Engineering in Duisburg (Prof. Solbach); this work is funded by the European Research Council through the Advanced Grant “MRexcite”. We work closely with other groups at the ELH, including Dagmar Timmann on cerebellar imaging, Tom Scheenen on prostate imaging, and Harald Quick on RF technology.

Excitation of "ELH" in a cylindrical phantom using a spatially selective RF pulse.
Axial and coronal sections acquired in the abdomen with an integrated 8-channel RF array (below).
8-channel RF array integrated into the 7 Tesla system by placing it on the bore Iiner. The array can be used to excite any region of the body, similar to conventional body coils found in clinical MRI systems.
Human head model with three metallic cranial fixation plates (left, yellow arrows). Specific absorption rate (middle) and temperature simulations (right) verify that no significant heating is expected during a head examination at 7 Tesla.
 
ladd_dfg_logo.png ladd_eu_logo.jpg
« Back to PI group overview
This group on the team page »

HF-Manipulation M. E. Ladd

Unsere Gruppe entwickelt Methoden und Technologien, um 7 Tesla Untersuchungen im ganzen Körper inklusive des Torsos zu ermöglichen. Ein Teil der Gruppe ist am Erwin L. Hahn Institut (ELH) in Essen angesiedelt, ein weiterer Teil am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) in Heidelberg.

Unsere Arbeit teilt sich in folgende Hauptthemen ein:

  1. Mehrkanal-Sendespulen,
  2. numerische Simulationen in inhomogenen menschlichen Körpermodellen, um die Verteilung von B1 und SAR, ggf. in Verbindung mit elektrisch-leitenden Implantaten, zu untersuchen, und
  3. Anregungsstrategien, um die B1-Sendefelder zu homogenisieren oder räumlich-selektive Anregungen/Sättigungen zu erreichen.

Als Teil des DFG-geförderten German Ultrahigh Field Imaging (GUFI) Projektes arbeiten wir daran, Qualitätssicherungs-Standards für Ultrahochfeld-MRT zu etablieren. Ein System mit 32 parallelen Sendekanälen wird derzeit als Teil einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem ELH in Essen, dem DKFZ in Heidelberg und der Hochfrequenztechnik in Duisburg (Prof. Solbach) entwickelt. Dieses Projekt wird durch den European Research Council mit dem Advanced Grant „MRExcite” gefördert. Wir arbeiten eng mit anderen Gruppen am ELH zusammen, wie Dagmar Timmann zur Kleinhirnbildgebung, Tom Scheenen zur Prostatabildgebung und Harald Quick zur HF-Technologie.

Anregung von "ELH" in einem zylindrischen Phantom mit einem räumlich-selektiven HF-Impuls.
Im Abdomen mit einer integrierten 8-Kanal-Spule (nebenstehende Abb.) aufgenommenes axiales und koronares Schnittbild.
Ein integriertes 8-Kanal HF-Array auf dem Tragrohr des 7 Tesla Systems. Das Array kann zur Anregung aller Regionen im Körper, ähnlich konventioneller Body-Spulen in klinischen MRT-Systemen, eingesetzt werden.
Menschliches Kopfmodell mit drei metallischen kraniellen Fixationsplatten (links, gelbe Pfeile). Simulationen der spezifischen Absorptionsrate (mitte) und der Temperatur (rechts) zeigen, dass keine signifikante Erwärmung während einer Kopfuntersuchung bei 7 Tesla stattfindet.
 
ladd_dfg_logo.png ladd_eu_logo.jpg
« Zurück zur Forschergruppen-Übersicht
Zur Gruppe auf der Teamseite »